The Edinburgh TV Festival has revealed the shortlist of nominations for the Edinburgh TV Awards, it was announced today.

Hosted by stand-up comedian Mo Gilligan, the TV Awards, now in their 18th year, form one of the highlights of the TV Festival calendar, bringing out the hugely talented creatives from both on and off screen. The shortlist was voted for by over 150 industry professionals.

Mo Gilligan, said: “I’m proud to host the Edinburgh TV Awards this year and excited to help celebrate the industry’s exceptional talent.”

This year, categories have been expanded further to recognise the importance of online content as well as smaller production companies. The shortlist features nominations in categories including: Channel of the Year, Best Specialist Channel, UK Broadcaster VOD of the Year, Online Channel of the Year, Production Company of the Year, Small Indie of the Year, Best International Drama, Best UK Drama, Best Documentary Programme, Best Popular Factual Series, Best Entertainment Series, Best Comedy Series and Best Breakthrough Talent.
On the night, award-winning actor, director, singer, musician, screenwriter and author, Hugh Laurie CBE will receive the Edinburgh TV Festival’s Outstanding Achievement Award.


Edinburgh TV Awards Shortlist 2019

Channel of the Year Award:
BBC Four
Channel 4
Channel 5

Best Specialist Channel:
BBC Four
Sky Arts
Comedy Central UK

UK Broadcaster VOD of the Year:
BBC iPlayer
All 4

Online Channel of the Year:
BBC Three
Barcroft TV
Real Stories, Little Dot Studios

Production Company of the Year:
CPL Productions
ITN Productions
Merman Television Limited
Studio Lambert
Two Brothers Pictures
World Productions

Small Indie of the Year:
Blakeway North
Kalel Productions
Lambent Productions
Mighty Productions Ltd
Renowned Films
Spelthorne Community Television

Best International Drama:
Killing Eve, Sid Gentle Films for BBC One
The Good Fight, CBS Television Studios in association with Scott Free Productions and King Size Productions on More 4
The Handmaid’s Tale Series 2, MGM Television for Channel 4
BRON/BROEN/The Bridge, Filmlance International & Nimbus Film in co-production with SVT, DR, ZDF German Television Network, ZDF Enterprises GMBH, Film i Skåne, NRK, Copenhagen Film Fund, Lumiere Group, Stiftelsen Ystad-Österlen Filmfond, with support from Nordvision and in co-operation with Malmö Stad for SVT and DR
The Haunting of Hill House, Amblin TV and Paramount Television for Netflix
Narcos: México, Gaumont International Television for Netflix

Best UK Drama:
Sex Education, Eleven Film for Netflix
Patrick Melrose, Little Island Productions, Two Cities Television and Sunny March for Sky Atlantic
Black Mirror: Bandersnatch, House of Tomorrow for Netflix
Brexit: The Uncivil War, House Productions for Channel 4
Line of Duty Series 5, World Productions Ltd for BBC One
Bodyguard, World Productions Ltd for BBC One

Best Documentary Programme:
Bros: After the Screaming Stops, Fulwell73 for BBC Four
Stephen: The Murder That Changed a Nation, On The Corner for BBC One
Dynasties, BBC Studios for BBC One
Louis Theroux’s Altered States, BBC Studios – The Documentary Unit for BBC Two
Leaving Neverland: Michael Jackson and Me, Amos Pictures for Channel 4
The Abused, Brinkworth Productions for Channel 5

Best Popular Factual Series:
60 Days on the Street, Boundless for Channel 4
SAS: Who Dares Wins, Minnow for Channel 4
The Great British Bake Off, Love Productions for Channel 4
Race Across the World, Studio Lambert for BBC Two
Old People’s Home for 4 Year Olds, CPL Productions for Channel 4
Harry’s Heroes: The Full English, Talkback for ITV

Best Entertainment Series:
Gogglebox, Studio Lambert for Channel 4
The Big Narstie Show, Expectation for Channel 4
The Last Leg, Open Mike Productions for Channel 4
Hunted Season 4, Shine TV for Channel 4
The Greatest Dancer, Thames – Fremantle for BBC One
Britain’s Got Talent, Thames – Fremantle for ITV 1


Best Comedy Series:
Fleabag Series 2, Two Brothers for BBC Three
Famalam, BBC Studios for BBC Three
Derry Girls Series 2, Hat Trick Productions for Channel 4
Catastrophe Series 4, Avalon Television for Channel 4
Stath Lets Flats, Roughcut Productions for Channel 4
After Life, Derek Productions for Netflix


Best Breakthrough Talent:
Nabhaan Rizwan
Tamara Lawrance
Saoirse-Monica Jackson
Mo Gilligan
Ncuti Gatwa
Lola Petticrew


CEO and Festival Director, Lisa Campbell, said: “Our new categories reflect the rise of start-up and smaller indies and the increasing importance of online content. Meanwhile, the competition is tougher than ever in the programme categories with some of the biggest, beautifully-crafted, talked-about shows of the year battling it out. Good luck to all our nominees!” The TV Moment of the Year category, voted for exclusively via the Festival app saw Danny Dyer’s unique take on Brexit on ITV’s Good Evening Britain, claim victory in last year’s awards. This year’s TV Moment of the Year category will open in July and remain open until Thursday, 22nd August, the day of the Edinburgh TV Awards ceremony. Last year, Channel 5 picked up the coveted Channel of the Year gong, while the Production Company of the Year went to CPL Productions. As a Festival and a charity, the Edinburgh International Television Festival is committed to helping young people from all backgrounds gain access to the TV Industry. It runs two young talent schemes, Ones to Watch and The Network. Both schemes aim to ensure that the people working in television are as diverse as the audience watching it.

For more information log on to

Follow us on Twitter on @EdinburghTVFest or on Instagram EdinburghTVFest

For more press information please contact Plank PR on 020 8995 3936 or /